Diary Entry

What a tiring day it was out in the rice fields. It feels like the same thing day in and day out. Nothing ever seemed to have brightened my day, until now that is! I purchased texts from The Tibetan Book of the Dead and The Tripitaka. These weren’t your everyday wooden blocks, oh no! These were written on what people are calling paper. It is made up from fish net, bark and cloth. It was so cheap, and so much lighter than the wood I was having to read. It makes these Buddhist texts far more accessible than before. Now others can enjoy texts for next to nothing! I can’t wait to use my next pay to go buy more! People might even feel more inclined to learn how to read, but I’m just daydreaming. I can only imagine how paper production will improve the economy. Well, perhaps I shall read a bit more before I go to bed. Tomorrow will be another big day out in the fields.

Leave a comment